A few months ago, the web information company Alexa redesigned their website and since then I’ve been noticing these incredibly distasteful advertisements pitching weight loss products, wrinkle removers and suspicious get rich quick schemes. While these type of advertisments are nothing new on the internet, what stood out to me was each advertisement appears to be placed by a person who is located in the same city as myself. I captured a few screenshots seen below…
When you click on any of the ads, you’re taken to different blogs that appear to be authored by a real person who resides in your home town. Some of the blogs in question are:
mywrinklesarecured.com
dianeswrinklecure.com
daily-job-news.com
rachelrayblogs.com
If you look up any of these blogs in Google, there are numerous bloggers warning that these flogs (as Jay Weintraub calls them)are blatant scams by scum of the earth affiliate marketers (Lincoln Adams’s affectionate term for the unethical blackhat set).
There have already been a few ongoing discussions about the legality of affiliate marketers using IP2Location or hostip.info databases to translate a visitor’s IP into a physical location to make it look as if the flog is authored by someone local. Some say it’s just a blackhat trick while others such as myself realize this type dishonest endorsement from non-existent consumers is in direct violation of the FTC’s “Truth in Advertising” laws designed to protect consumers from fraud.
If you have a look at the FTC Guide Concerning Use of Testimonials in Advertising, it clearly states :
![]() |
ยง255.2 Consumer endorsements.
(b) Advertisements presenting endorsements by what are represented, directly or by implication, to be “actual consumers” should utilize actual consumers, in both the audio and video or clearly and conspicuously disclose that the persons in such advertisements are not actual consumers of the advertised product. |
So I have to ask myself if anybody at Alexa has ever heard of the FTC? Maybe they think it’s not their problem because the actual ads are being served through Pulse360.com which makes the following claims :
![]() |
Whether you are interested in creating a campaign for ContextTarget, LocalTarget, BehaviorTarget - or any combination of the three - it all starts here. The sign-up process is simple, and before you know it your Pulse 360 campaign will be up and running.
The company started as the new business name for the content-targeted sponsored links business, previously part of Kanoodle, which has been around since 1999. Pulse 360 is now a unit of Seevast, an operating company created by industry-recognized professionals to provide innovative Web-based marketing services. |
OK, so Pulse360.com has a technology called “LocalTarget” that evidently thumbs it’s nose at FTC guidelines by using IP translation and phony testimonials to dupe consumers into believing they are being marketed to by somebody local. It’s also strange that the whois record for Pulse360.com clearly designates Kanoodle.com, Inc. as the owner and both sites are even on the same IP address.
What do you think? Should marketers be allowed to use these deceptive practices to dupe consumers?














