neverblueads logo MarketLeverage logo Hydra Network logo neverblueads logo
logo  

A discussion of earning with the Best Affiliate Programs, SEO, Wordpress Blogging and General Motivational Ideas for Internet Publishers and Affiliate Marketers.


feedburner

Blog Icon Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme

Posted in Pay Per Click Marketing by Dave on January 19th, 2009

Phishing Scheme Be on the lookout. Phishing schemes are no longer limited to scammers trying to steal your bank account or Paypal account details. The latest phishing scheme hitting inboxes across the web is targeting Google Adwords users asking them for their login and contact details for their Google Adwords account.

I’m not really quite sure why somebody would want to hack an Adwords account? They can’t withdraw any money from it and if they use it to buy advertising for a site, there’s a trail a million miles wide. The most it could cause is a serious inconvenience for the account owner if the account is compromised.

Always remember, companies like Google, eBay or Amazon will never send you an email asking for account details and most companies will never send you an insecure (http://) link instead of a secure (https://) link.

Here’s a copy of an email I received today…

blockquote Dear Google AdWords customer!

In order to confirm your contact details, please click the link below:

http://adwords.google.com/accounts/VE?service=adwords&c=33785003324529761

This should take you directly to the Google AdWords Form.

Thank you for choosing AdWords. We look forward to providing you with the most
effective advertising available.

Sincerely,

The Google AdWords Team

When hovering over the link in the email, the real url is …

http://adwordsgoogle.com.idir170.eu/accounts/VE?service=adwords&c=3

Which is a page disguised to look like a Google webpage, except if you enter your account details, more than likely you’re account will be compromised.

Tagged: ,



Like this post? Subscribe to AffiliateBestPrograms RSS feed and never miss a post !!


del.icio.us:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme newsvine:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme furl:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme reddit:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme blogmarks:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme Y!:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme smarking:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme magnolia:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme segnalo:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme gifttagging:Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme




10 Responses to 'Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme'.

  1. Lawyer Frank on January 19th, 2009

    what do they think they are going to do with an Adwords account? Wouldn’t it be obvious to Google if somebody has run Adwords and all of a sudden starts trying to put in strange sites?

  2. Alberto on January 19th, 2009

    Strange. I am having several of these emails today but to the wrong email not on my Adwords account.

  3. Matt on January 21st, 2009

    Thanks for the heads up. Also, I’m not sure but I think Google tracks their adwords using IP Adresses. So if you have a complaint Google should be able to check and see if the IP matches or if its to some computer in Iraq or something.

  4. Jehzeel Laurente on January 21st, 2009

    ohh.. I also received e-mails similar to those. We should be very keen and observe, specially the permalink used in the e-mail just like what you said.. :D yay!

    Those phishers are really clever. But we should be more clever to avoid possible e-mail scams. :)

  5. Miranda V on January 21st, 2009

    you make a good point -

  6. Dave on January 21st, 2009

    @Matt - Google does keep elaborate IP tracking, which is why I couldn’t understand the point of somebody trying to get your Adwords login information. However, I found this post from lat March at Seroundtable…

    http://www.seroundtable.com/archives/016647.html

    Apparently, they are phishing for credit card details and not just your Adwords account login information.

  7. […] The latest phishing scheme is targeting Google Adwords customers in attempts to steal their loging information and possibly gain access to their credit card information. If you are a Google Adwords customer, please take the time to read - Beware of Google Adwords Phishing Scheme. […]

  8. Daniel White on January 30th, 2009

    An excellent catch there. I think I did receive one of these in my Gmail inbox the other day. I hovered over the URL, and it pointed to a g00gle.ru site. haha

  9. Debt management plans on April 29th, 2009

    It is true that phishing websites have gone to extreme cases. One of my close friend is a victim of this scammers. He click the link from his outlook express email account to his paypal. Luckily, he able to file a claim and get back his money. Things would have been worse if someone got hold of our bank account login details. During this economic downturn, debts and financial crisis pushing many people to involve in unhealthy activities like this. The best way to survive is to protect our accounts and have solid anti-virus, anti-phishing, anti-spyware, etc installed in all our computers and handhelds.

  10. Shawn on May 20th, 2009

    I get a lot of these types of emails, and sad to say, I have clicked on plenty of them. Once at the page, luckily it becomes pretty obvious what’s what.

Leave a Reply



This is a dofollow blog, however, if you wish to have your comment approved, please use a human name and not something like "free hosting" or "adsense help" in the name field. I will no longer approve comments that are made solely for the purpose of building backlinks at my expense. ~Thanks Dave.










Categories
Archives

Coming Soon: Affiliate Traffic Generator | Affiliate Directory | Affiliate Software | Affiliate Tools

Resdaz Media
AffiliateBestPrograms © 2007-20009 Resdaz Media
All Rights Reserved
Other Resdaz Media Network Sites:
Add to Technorati Favorites

BRDTracker BlogsByCategory.com
Find the best blogs at Blogs.com. feeds4all

Blogoculars Blog Directory